Monday, April 30, 2007

Warcraft: Day of the Dragon

Warcraft: Day of the Dragon is a novel by Richard A. Knaak based in Blizzard Entertainments Warcraft Universe. It was published by Pocket Books.

It is the first book released in the Warcraft Universe.

Plot summary:

Set after Warcraft II: Tides of Darkness but before Warcraft III: Reign of Chaos, Day of the Dragon is the story of how a human Mage, Rhonin ventures into the last remaining Orc-controlled lands in Khaz Modan by the order of Krasus. Krasus is actually a red dragon named Korialstrasz. He is loyal to his captured queen named Alexstrasza. There the Orcs are holding Alexstrasza, Queen of the Red dragon flight and one of the five great Aspects. By using the "Demon Soul", Nekros Skullcrusher is able to hold Alexstrasza and her consorts such as Tyranastrasz against her will and use her offspring as pawns against the other races of Azeroth. Korialstrasz sought help from the other Aspects, Nozdormu, Malygos, and Ysera. Deathwing helped Rhonin get into the Orc Fortress which convinced Nekros Skullcrusher that there was an Alliance attack on Grim Batol. Deathwing actually wanted the eggs so he could replenish his flight. Nekros had the eggs where Deathwing wanted them. As Deathwing as leaving with the eggs, he was confronted by a dying Tyranastrasz. In the end, the three other Aspects assisted Korialstrasz in his task to free Alexstrasza. Korialstrasz, with the help of Rhonin, Vereesa Windrunner, Falstad Dragonreaver (Falstad Wildhammer), and a number of dwarven resistance fighters, manages to destroy the "Demon Soul" forever. By doing so, they free Alexstrasza, who kills Nekros Skullcrusher, aiding in the defeat of the orcs in the area. Ironically, Deathwing helped with the release of Alexstrasza. With the destruction of the "Demon Soul" the powers were returned to the four of the five Aspects and Deathwing was last seen fleeing from three angry Aspects at the time because Alexstrasza went to Korialstrasz.

World of Warcraft: Cycle of Hatred

World of Warcraft: Cycle of Hatred is a novel by Keith R. A. DeCandido based in Blizzard Entertainments Warcraft Universe. It was published by Pocket Books.

This is the first book to be released under the World of Warcraft name. It takes place between the events of Warcraft III: The Frozen Throne and World of Warcraft. It is about the leader of the Humans (Jaina Proudmoore) and the leader of the Orcs (Thrall) uniting, once again, to fight a common foe. They also must overcome their own peoples' respective racial prejudices.

Plot summary:

Theramore and Durotar remained at relative peace for three years, though the two former archenemies were still wary of each other. Eventually, a series of minor shipping incidents led to extreme tension between the two powers, enough that the Goblins, who controlled the region's only neutral port, complained.

Despite the tension, Thrall requested Jaina's aid in relocating a herd of Thunder Lizards displaced by a mysterious logging operation at Thunder Ridge. Jaina intended to relocate the Lizards to a largely unpopulated region on the far side of Mulgore, but was astonished to discover that the area was magically warded to protect its single inhabitant: Aegwynn.

The former Guardian brushed off Jaina's admiration, but filled in the gaps of what had been happening amidst the tensions between Theramore and Durotar: a minor demon, Zmodlor had revived the Burning Blade and was playing the two powers against each other.

Jaina and Aegwynn hastily returned to Theramore, where they discovered that Jaina's own chamberlain had been corrupted by the Burning Blade, and one of Thrall's advisors was too. After dealing with the turncoat, Jaina, Lorena and Aewynn took on Zmodlor himself. Unfortunately, the demon was backed by a small cabal of Warlocks (either Eredar or Satyr, the text is unclear). After they dealt with the traitors in Jaina's ranks, and Thrall's in his, both leaders proposed a more official treaty.